top of page

Musselburgh AGM 2022: Overview

The Musselburgh AGM 2022 took place tonight at the MRFC Gym.

The evening started with the President’s Report by Drew Johnston who is stepping down after three years at the helm of the Board, where he spoke of his happiness at his time in charge, after taking over in 2019 and leading the club through the COVID-19 pandemic and our time in the Premiership so far.

Grant Talac, Director of Rugby then spoke through the Senior, Youth and Mini Rugby seasons of 2021/22 and thanked our previous coaching staff at 1XV and 2XV levels, our previous YDO and all the volunteers and staff who have contributed to the past season. The Youth and Mini sections focused on the work by Tom Foley and Neil Hogg regarding our youth players being represented at district level, the development of our girls team and the enthusiasm of our players and coaches to contributing to our minis game.

The Treasuer’s Report was read by Drew Johnston in Jill Irving’s absence. The club is in a “strong and positive financial position” thanks to the contribution from our sponsors, our bar takings and matchday income. A focus for the club remains its need for volunteers to which we remain hopeful of obtaining before the new season.

The new amendments to the constitution included additional payments to Non Playing Members for gym access and to allow the election of New Honorary Life Members and the election/re-election of Honorary Presidents to take place before the appointment of the new Board of Management.

The Board of Management was also amended to include 3 new General Board Members to focus on Values/Mental Health and Wellbeing, Youth Matters including Child Protection and any additional tasks and responsibilities as and when required.

Subscriptions was the next matter and it was felt appropriate to increase memberships by a small amount for the coming season taking into account that fees have remained the same for a few years now and the increased costs which the club is facing with energy and product price hikes.

The meeting moved onto the election of New Honorary Life members and the election and re-election of Honorary Presidents where it was unanimously agreed that Colin Scott should become a Life Member of the Club, Derek Paterson elected as Honorary President and Donald McDonald, Ian Hackett, Norrie Shirley re-elected as Honorary Presidents.

Our penultimate item on the agenda was the appointment of a new Board of Management. The new management is as follow;

President - Brian Jardine

Vice-President - Blair Stewart

Treasurer - Jill Irving

Secretary - Ian McMillan

Director of Rugby - Grant Talac

Brian Jardine, the new President thanked Drew for his dedication to the club and talked about his own experiences of playing for Musselburgh RFC as well as his enjoyment of becoming Bar Steward before handing that particular role over to Neil Durham.

Michael Maltman then confirmed that Danny Owenson will continue in his role as Club Captain for the third consecutive year, supported by Colin Arthur and Rory Watt as his Vice-Captains.

The meeting was adjourned at 8.21pm.

bottom of page