top of page

Summary: AGM 2024

The Musselburgh Rugby Football Club AGM 2024 took place at Stoneyhill tonight, with the appointment of Blair Stewart as President of the Club taking over from Brian Jardine after two years at the helm.

Musselburgh AGM 2024

Blair's successor to Vice President is Ian McMillian, who hands over the secretary role to David Barrett. Along with this, Grant Talac will step down as Director of Rugby after six years in the role, with Euan McMillan stepping into the position.

Jill Irving remains Treasurer of the Club, with Alistair Bonthron, Alistair Scott and Graham Jamieson on as General Members, taking on the roles of Values/Mental Health, Wellbeing and Compliance, Youth Matters including Child Protection and Additional Tasks and and Responsibilities respectively.

Rory Watt will continue his role as Club Captain, with Sandy Watt and Michael Badenhorst also continuing their roles as Vice Captains.

The club has enjoyed another busy and positive year, fielding three senior teams, the 1XV remaining in the Premiership, a thriving mini and youth section at all age levels with our Youth Development Officer working within the schools in the area, continued development of the facilities to provide for the members and local community, including embarking on two major capital projects of the floodlight and car park upgrades in the year, with the accounts reflecting the investment and activity.

Brian Jardine in his President's reflection commended the 1XV for their highest ever league finish, highlighting the club's victory at Marr as one of his personal highlights, and the performance of the 2XV, 3XV, Colts and the re-formation of our Womens Section. Praise went to Neil Hogg for his work in the mini section, Tom Foley in his role as the Youth Development Officer, all the work off the park from the volunteers to improve the club facilities, the coaching and physio teams and the board for their support over the past two years, in particular Grant Talac for his work as Director of Rugby and Neil Durham and the staff behind the bar for all their work throughout the season.

Further congratulations were mentioned by Grant Talac during his report to the players called up during the Inter-District Championship, youth players called up to for international representation and thanks to the team managers for their roles throughout the season.

One Life Member was voted in, with Drew Johnston being recognised for his service to the club.

After being nominated in, Blair Stewart commented on his appointment as a great honour, thanking Brian for his service to the club over the years as President and previous roles within the club. He looked back on his time within the club as a player and in various roles behind the scenes, and looking ahead to his time with his board ahead of the season, and commenting on what will be a tough season with the restructuring of the Premiership.

President Blair Stewart and Club Captain Rory Watt

Membership prices will remain the same. Further details will be announced of the 2024/25 membership in due course.

The meeting started at 7:10pm and finished at 8:44pm.


bottom of page